The Horrors of Being a Vegetarian on a College Campus

Posted: April 15, 2016 by bourgeoisaubrey in Uncategorized

veg

Fried chicken, burgers, hotdogs, spaghetti and meatballs, turkey sandwiches, and pepperoni pizza, all beckoned me every time I entered the Caf. I was a vegetarian and my options for meatless meals were limited. I oftentimes settled for a wilted salad with watered down dressing. With limited alternatives, I had to be creative in coming up with fulfilling meal. This phenomenon is not just prevalent on Xavier’s campus, but campuses all across the nation. For a vegetarian, on-campus cafeterias are a nightmare.

As a vegetarian on a college campus, it is hard to find the right balance between healthy alternatives, and quick and easy carb heavy meals such as pasta and macaroni and cheese. Without the proper substitutes, vegetarians might not get all of the nutrients they need. Beans, broccoli, yogurt, eggs and peanut butter are just a few examples of healthy substitutes a vegetarian can eat in order to get the proper amounts of vitamins, protein and calcium.

My experience with being a vegetarian in college was challenging. I originally became a vegetarian because I didn’t agree with factory farming, I wanted to decrease my carbon footprint, and I wanted to use my “economic voice” to stand against injustice. However, the temptation to give in to meat, and the lack of healthy alternatives on campus led to my downfall. I still believe in being a vegetarian, and one day I hope to become a vegan. However, until I have the financial resources and the means to cook for myself, I will settle for the caf’s chicken Parmesan.

Leave a Reply

